24 Professors of Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Demoted

The management of Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, has demoted 24 professors following a petitions some aggrieved people sent to the minister of education. Adamma Nwachukwu, Michael Okpara University of Agriculture’s spokesperson, who spoke to News Telegraph confirmed that 24 professors have been demoted. Nwachukwu said:

“Following the outcome of the process, council directed that affected persons should revert to their proper placement.” She, however, declined to offer other details of the action, saying “the university is not exactly interested in blowing this matter out of proportion. It is an internal procedure and was not targeted at demoting or promoting anybody, but rather at ensuring proper placement of all affected staff and not just Professors.”

From documents sent to the news platform, Alphonsus Odo Ovute of the department of Science Education; Melody Ndidi Modebelu of the Department of Educational Management; Gideon Ahamefula Emerole of the Department of Business Administration; Ogwo Patrick Agwu of the Department of Environmental Management and Technology; Aso Vincent Ele of the Department of Mathematics and Joy Chinwe Obunadike of the Department of Adult and Continuing Education were among the Professors demoted to Senior Lecturers.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.